

The Gavel of Delta Sigma Rho

Volume 30 | Issue 2 Article 7

1-1948

With the Alumni...

Follow this and additional works at: https://cornerstone.lib.mnsu.edu/gavel



Part of the Speech and Rhetorical Studies Commons

Recommended Citation

With the Alumni... (1948). The Gavel of Delta Sigma Rho, 30(2), 35.

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by Cornerstone: A Collection of Scholarly and Creative Works for Minnesota State University, Mankato. It has been accepted for inclusion in The Gavel of Delta Sigma Rho by an authorized editor of Cornerstone: A Collection of Scholarly and Creative Works for Minnesota State University, Mankato.

With the Alumni . . .

Harry L. Daasch (ISC) is now Professor and Chairman of the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering in the School of Engineering and Architecture, University of Kansas.

Robert V. Niedner (MO) is a member of the law firm of Niedner and Niedner

in St. Charles, Missouri.

Dr. Edward Carroll Sibley (HR) was recently retired from the Army as a lieutenant colonel and is now Assistant Professor of Commerce and Finance at Washington University, St. Louis. He also teaches public speaking and coaches debating at the St. Louis chapter of the American Institute of Banking.

Thomas Brock (A) is the new executive officer at the state headquarters of the Democratic Party in Michingan.

Dr. Robert McCulloch (A) has transferred from Oklahoma A. and M. College at Stillwater to Western State College at Gunnison, Colorado, where he is Associate Professor of Political Science.

Dr. Edgar A. Willis (L), who was elected at Wayne University in 1937, is now in charge of radio work at San Jose

State College, California.

Garnet Garrison (WAY), a charter member of the Wayne chapter, has left his position with the National Broadcasting Company in New York to become Director of the program in radio instruction at the University of Michigan.

Alfonso Rodriguez (WAY) is in the U. S. Consular Service at San Jose, Costa

Rica.

Philip C. Ebeling (OW) is an attorney in Dayton, Ohio, a member of the firm of Pickrel, Schaeffer, and Ebeling. He is a trustee of Ohio Wesleyan University and a past president of the National Junior Chamber of Commerce.

Rev. F. Gerald Ensley (OW) is pastor of the North Broadway Methodist Church, Columbus, Ohio. He was honored with the D. D. degree by Ohio

Wesleyan in 1946.

Rev. Thoburn Brumbaugh (OW), after a number of years of experience as missionary to China, is now Corresponding Secretary of the Board of Foreign Missions of the Methodist Church with responsibility for the Far East.

responsibility for the Far East.
Arthur R. Murphy (AMER) has recently returned to civilian life from the Army and is now an attorney with the United States Steel Corporation, with

headquarters in Pittsburgh.

Kenneth Kenneth-Smith (CLB) is Executive Secretary of the Greer School, New York.

L. Thad Byrne (WSC) is Manager of the Byrne Circle Tours, with headquarters in Spokane Washington.

L. J. Ingraham (CA) is in the Purchasing Department of Armour and Company, with headquarters at the Union Stock Yards, Chicago.

Robert H. Herrick (OB) is Copy Editor on the CLEVELAND PLAIN DEAL-ER.

Mrs. Muriel Edelstein Gilman (BK) is Housing Assistant with the New York City Housing Authority.

Elbert W. Harrington (ITC) is Head of the Department of Speech, Radio, and Dramatic Art, University of South Dakota.

Dr. William M. Lamers (MQ) is Assistant Superintendent of the Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Public Schools.

S. H. Blackmer (Y) is Superior Judge, State of Vermont, with headquarters in Bennington.

Rev. Kenneth N. Peterson (MN) is minister of the United Presbyterian Church in Moline, Illinois.

Phillips V. Hembt (A) is Office Supervisor with the Farm Credit Administration. His home is in Agawam, Massachusetts.

William D. Gallagher (CA) is Trust Counsel with the Bank of America, Los Angeles, California.

Austin J. Freeley (BU) is Coach of Debate at Boston University.

Dr. John D. McKee (WO) is Director of Public Relations, The College of Wooster, Wooster, Ohio.

Haldor B. Gislason (MN), Head of the Department of Community Service, University of Minnestota and a charter member of Delta Sigma Rho, died July 14, 1947. Professor Gislason had retired in 1944.

Robert W. Jones (MO) is Professor of Journalism in the University of Washington, Seattle. He is the author of JOURN-ALISM IN THE UNITED STATES, published by Dutton in 1947.

Frank G. Reed (BE) is Vice-President of the Crerar Clinch Coal Company, with headquarters in Chicago.

Rev. C. Fosberg Hughes (A) is Minister of the Plymouth Congregational Church, Lawrence, Kansas.

Ted Beaird (OK) is Executive Secretary and Manager of the University of Oklahoma Alumni Corporation, with headquarters at Norman.

U. S. Earls (WO), who is now serving his third term as Mayor of Dell Rapids, South Dakota, has been Superintendent of Schools of Dell Rapids for 28 years.

Dr. Carlyn R. Winger (WSC) is Professor of Speech at State College, Corval-

lis, Oregon.

Roland C. Matthies (DP) is Treasurer and Assistant Professor of Public Speaking, Wittenberg College, Springfield, Ohio.